Ferris State University Academic Senate Meeting Tuesday, April 30, 2002 – 11:00 a.m. President's Room, Rankin Center

I. Call to Order: President Konrad called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.

II. Attendance

Senators Present: Abbasabadi, Aiken, Bandstra, Berghoef, Cron, Conati, Drake, Ek, Ferdowsi, Jablonski, Johnson, Griffin, Hanna, Kantar, Konrad, Kowalkoski, Liszewski, Lovsted, Loesch, Nagel, Nelson, Ngoh, Papo, Parks, Parry, Ryan, Sanderson, Shepler, Stern, Thapa, Tomczyk, Vermeer, Weber, Wilson, Zobeck

Senators Absent: El-Saidi, Hall, Stein (excused), Westhoven

Guests: Barbara Chapman, Laurie Chesley, Richard Cochran, Joanne Gerst, Chuck Matrosic, Tom Oldfield, William Potter, William Sederburg, Michelle Johnston, Vincent King, Mary Murnik, Andy Karafa, Marc Sheehan, Don Flickinger, Susan Morris

- III. Open Forum No comments at this time.
- IV. New Business Election of Officers for the 2001-2002 Academic Year

Senator Conati, with support from **Senator Ryan** moves to nominate **Senator Papo as President** of the Academic Senate. Senator Thapa moves to close nominations. **Motion to elect carries**.

Senator Griffin, with support from Senator Conati, moves to nominate Senator Nagel as Vice President of the Academic Senate. Senator Konrad, with support from Senator Parks, moves to nominate Senator Johnson as Vice President of the Academic Senate. Senator Thapa moves to close nominations. Balloting declares Senator Johnson as Senate Vice President.

Senator Griffin, with support from Senator Kowalkoski moves to nominate Senator Aiken as Secretary of the Academic Senate. Senator Abbabasabadi moves to close nominations. Motion to elect carries.

Senator Ferdowsi, with support from Senator Abbabasabadi, moves to nominate Senator Thapa as Senate Information Officer. Senator Ferdowsi moves to close nominations. Motion to elect carries.

Motion by Senator Conati to elect two at large positions on the Senate E-Board with one election, with two top to vote getters gaining the positions. Motion supported by Senator Johnson. Motion carries.

Senator Konrad, with support from Senator Parks, moves to nominate Senator Parry as an At Large member of the Senate Executive Board.

Senator Ryan, with support from Senator Aiken, moves to nominate Senator Weber as an At Large member of the Senate Executive Board. Nominations closed. Both Senator Parry and Senator Weber win vacant seats.

VI. Open Forum – UCC Chair Chuck Drake announced that two items need to be reviewed and approved following a UCC meeting on May 3.

Motion by Senator Aiken, with support by **Senator Nelson**, to grant the Senate Executive Board permission to make a decision and forward the information to the Senators before action is

taken. Any Senator will be able to attend this meeting and vote and there will be no need to a quorum on this issue. **Motion fails.**

Senator Ryan, with support from **Senator Aiken** moves to schedule a Senate meeting on May 9 at 4 p.m. with location to be announced. **Motion carries.**

- IV. Open Forum No comments at this time.
- V. Adjournment Meeting adjourned at 11:47 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,	Approved,
David Aiken, Secretary	William Papo, President