## **Minutes Ferris State University Academic Senate Meeting**

## April 24, 2012-B

Members in Attendance: Abbabasabadi, Alspach, Amey, Baker, Beck, Berghoef, Ciaramitaro, Cook, Dakkuri, Daubert, Dixon, Drake, Fox, Griffin, Haneline, Isler, Jewett, Jiao, Joyce, Luplow, Marion, McLean, Moore, Nagel, Nazar,

Nystrom, Prakasam, Richmond, Schmidt, Stone, Thapa, Todd, Wancour

Members absent with cause: Hanna, Klatt, Lovsted Members absent: Boncher, Dinardo, George, Reynolds

Ex Officio and Guests: Burcham, Erickson, Flickinger, Vasicek, Quigley, vonReichbauer

Senator Todd moved for adjournment at 11:58. Dixon seconded. Motion passed.

Senate Elections Committee Chair Barbara Ciamataro began the meeting at 11:00 a.m. and opened the floor for comments 2. Election of President. Senator Griffin moved to elect Doug Haneline as president. Senator Thapa seconded. Senator Haneline accepted the nomination. Because of Senate rules, a ballot was required. Motion carried 31-1. 3. **Election of Vice President** Senator Griffin moved to nominate Senator Mike Berghoef as vice-president. Senator Jewett seconded. Senator Jiao nominated Senator Thapa. Senator Drake seconded. Both candidates accepted their nomination spoke to the Senate. Vote totals listed below. 17 Mike Berghoef 16 Khaghendra Thapa 4. **Election of Secretary** Senator Marion moved to nominate Senator Melinda Isler as secretary. Secretary Thapa seconded. Senator Isler accepted the nomination and spoke to the senate. A ballot was passed out. Motion carried 33-0. Election of 3 At-Large members Senator Thapa nominated Senator David Marion. Senator Cook seconded. Senator Griffin nominated Senator Alspach. Senator Nagel seconded. Senator Thapa nominated Senator Nagel. Senator Prakasam seconded. Senator Berghoef nominated Senator Stone. Senator Prakasam seconded. Senator Nystrom nominated Senator Jewett. Senator Berghoeff seconded. Senator Prakasam nominated Senator Fox. Senator Berghoef seconded. Senator Cook and Thapa declined nominations. Each senator spoke to the senate. A ballot was passed out. It was clarified that there would be only one ballot and senators can vote for up to 3 candidates (but did not have to vote for three A ballot was passed out. Vote totals listed below. \* indicates those selected 19 Mischelle Stone\* 17 Sandy Alspach\* 14 David Marion\*

Respectfully submitted, Melinda Isler Secretary

Beth Fox Keith Jewett George Nagel