President's Memorandum to Faculty and Staff

Office of the President April 7, 2008

Tenure, Promotion and Merit Awards

As we begin to look toward Spring Commencement, I want to bring attention to the annual recognition of achievements by our faculty. It is a pleasure to share with you the names of faculty who will receive tenure, promotions and merit awards. Each of these decisions reflects significant accomplishments to our University, its programs and students through years of engagement and effort.

Faculty achieving tenure includes Allison Bernknopf, Mary Bonacci, Tracey Boncher, Michael Dekker, Laura Dix, Cathleen Edick, Scott Herron, Claire Saadeh, Holly Schalk, William Smith, Meral Topcu, Michelle Weemaes and Douglas Zentz.

Faculty promotions to full professor include Peter Balanda, Lianne Briggs, Renato Cerdena, Cambria DeHoag, Bruce Dilg, Mike Feutz, Virginia Hines, Teresa Klepser, Steve Lyman, Kelly Seitter, and Kent Sun. Promotions to associate professor include Allison Bernknopf, Tracey Boncher, Laura Dix, Jennifer Hagerman, Bradley Isler, Paul Kammerdiner, Paul Klatt, Russ Leonard, Joseph Lipar, Jana Pisani, Piram Prakasam, Gordon Reynolds, Mark Rusco, Christine VonderHaar, and Douglas Zentz. Michaelle Weemaes has been promoted to assistant professor and Tom Liszewski to counselor level III.

Faculty receiving merit awards include Ali Abbasabadi, Tom Behler, Sandra Burns, John Caserta, Daniel Cronk, Greg Denny, Terry Doyle, Richard Griffin, Judith Hooper, Steve Jakubowski, Bradley McCormick, Robert McCullough, Thomas Mehl, Connie Morcom, Karen Norman, John Schmidt, Phillip Sterling, Alison Stone and Fred Wyman.

These faculty will be among those honored at the Faculty Recognition Dinner on April 17th. Please join me in extending your thanks not only to these members of Ferris' faculty, but to all of our outstanding teachers. Soon the 2008 class of Ferris graduates will cross the stage to receive their diplomas – an accomplishment that would not be possible without the expertise and dedication of our faculty.

Distinguished Staff and Team Awards

I want to extend my congratulations to the winners of this year's Distinguished Staff and Team Awards. Criteria for these honors include positive attitude and enthusiasm; excellence in performance of duties; interest in students or demonstrated cooperation with other staff; and participation as a member of the University community and public service to others.

This year's recipients are Annette Erler, Physical Plant clerk typist; Lori Armstrong, Department of Music Industry Management administrative assistant; Denise Moulter, University Center for Extended Learning administrative secretary to the dean; Julie Modene, Dining Services stockroom coordinator for Center Ice; and Deb Vance, Department of Languages and Literature secretary level II.

The winner of this year's Distinguished Team Award, whose criteria includes the quality of service they provide to students as recognized by the University community is the College of Business Applied Statistics Team, which includes Marketing Department Chair Mike Cooper and faculty Elies Kouider and Nate Tymes.

These distinguished staff and team awards have been chosen by a staff committee that includes Pepper Bonnett, Mike McKay, Karen Ottobre, Linda Telfer and Deb Yost. They have done an excellent job of selecting these award winners from the many deserving staff nominated.

These recipients will be honored at the Annual Employee Service Award Celebration on the afternoon of April 23rd and at a luncheon later this year. Please take the time to extend your thanks and congratulations to this year's honorees!

Michigan Energy Conference

This Friday and Saturday, April 11 and 12, Ferris State University will host the Michigan Energy Conference at the Holiday Inn and Conference Center and the Granger Center for Construction and HVACR. The MEC will feature a speech by Dick DeVos who will speak on the topic "Powering Michigan Forward: A Diversified, Balanced Plan to Boost Growth and Job Creation" at 7:30 p.m. this Friday in Wink Arena.

The conference also features keynote speaker Gordon V.R. Holness, treasurer of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers, and chairman emeritus of the architectural and engineering firm Albert Kahn Associates, Inc. He will discuss technology and energy conservation.

The MEC is designed to promote dialogue on using energy effectively and efficiently to create sustainable environments at home and work. The rise in energy costs and the continuing concern over how to control emissions that could contribute to global warming makes this an especially timely conference.

I want to thank HVACR faculty member Doug Zentz, who has developed and promoted this idea, and everyone who helped make this a reality. Tickets for DeVos' speech are free for students with ID and \$12.50 for the general public. For more information and to register for the conference, visit www.ferris.edu/mec.

Student Achievement

My last University-wide message mentioned students who received awards from the Michigan Campus Compact. I want to bring attention to additional students whose dedication to service is being recognized by the MCC.

Erica Rogerson is receiving the MCC's Commitment to Service Award, given to one student per member campus in recognition of commitment to community Service. Elizabeth Block, Audra Budzynski Anthony Coy, Megan Gilders and Kevin Walsh are receiving the MCC's Heart and Soul Award, given to recognize their time, effort and personal commitment through service.

My congratulations and thanks to all of our students whose hard work and dedication to serving others helps make our campus and community betters places for all of us.

Sincerely,