President's Memorandum to Faculty and Staff

Office of the President April 14, 2008

Faculty Recognition

As this academic year rapidly draws to a close we take time to honor our people for their achievements and dedicated service.

At Thursday's Faculty Recognition Dinner a number of faculty will be recognized for outstanding achievement and service to the University. Please join me in congratulating these outstanding faculty members whose efforts have earned them the following awards:

- AASCU Political Engagement Edward Brayton and Scott Herron
- Academic Senate Certificate of Appreciation Bruce Dilg
- Carnegie Foundation Award Michael Berghoef
- Distinguished Teacher Award Khagendra Thapa
- Exemplary Course Assessment Team Lisa Wall and Dan Sleeper
- International Educator Award John Jablonski
- Michigan Campus Compact Community Service Learning Anthony Baker
- On-line Instructor Certification Mark DeKoster, Anita Fagerman, Bakhodirzhon Siddikov, Matthew Wagerheim, and Maureen Heaphy
- Outstanding First-Year Advocate Award Paul Jackson

Employee Service Awards

On Wednesday, April 23rd, from 3-5 p.m. in the Rankin Center Dome Room, we will celebrate our annual employee service awards. In addition to the distinguished staff and team awards announced in my last University-wide message, we will honor Ferris faculty and staff for continuous service to the University. This year, those achieving significant milestones include –

5 Years

Linda Aldrich, John Backstrom, Allison Bernknopf, Martin Bledsoe, Mary Bonacci, Tracey Boncher, Wendy Bradley, Mark Brandly, Ira Childress, Teresa Cook, Jason Daday, Michael Dekker, Laura Dix, Judith Elsey, Samuel Fattore, Virginia Hines, Ernest Hollenbeck, Cynthia Horn, Brenna Kelley, Lauri Knoop, Elies Kouider, Paul Kwant, Nancy Lashaway-Bokina, Gary Lutz, Margaret Lyons, Leeann Martin, Bruce Morgan, Thomas Overholser, Terry Pierson, Timothy Pullen, Claire Saadeh, Mandy Seiferlein, Luzia Tartari, Leigh Theunick, Meral Topcu, Frederick Van Sant, Michelle Weemaes, Douglas Zentz

10 Years

Daniel Adsmond, Karen Baar, Tamara Babcock, Anthony Baker, Peter Balanda, Richelle Boerma, John Bush, Richard Christner, Richard Cochran, Cambria DeHoag, George Demaagd, Margaret Devoest, Daniel Ding, Tracey Dorow, Deborah Ducat, Michael Feutz, Timothy Glover, Valerie

Greenfield, Valerie Harley, Thomas Hollen, Keith Jewett, Leonard Johnson, Donna Langworthy, Katherine LaPietra, Thomas Lokers, Lionel MacKenzie, Joyce Marek, Eunice Merwin, Leah Monger, Susan Morris, Karan Noller, Karen Obermier, Cynthia Ottobre, Brian Pacholka, Joy Paquette, Susan Pennock, Kriston Rasmussen, David Remus, Ruth Ridderman, Mark Rusco, Dennis Ruzicka, Kipp Saathoff, William Saunders, Donna Schmidt, Adam Schoen, Kenneth Schussler, Jon Shaffer, Randy Stein, Patricia Terryn, Deborah Tice, Daniel Vander Woude, Adam Wetherell, Krista Wilcox, Kristi Williams, Lingfei Xu

15 Years

Sandra Alspach, Scott Atwell, Carol Boyce, Danette Boyd, Carla Erlewine, Richard Goosen, James Hoerter, Fonda Kuzee, Karen Nash, Neil Patten, Matthew Pinter, Walter Smith,

20 Years

Alireza Abbasabadi, Frances Allegretto, Kay Anderson, Judy Becker, Rexford Billings, Lianne Briggs, Carrie Buss, Kim Colvert, Gregory Conti, Debra Cox, Gregory Denny, Jeffrey Ek, Tamara Finch, Kathy Fisher, Susan Hastings-Bishop, Frederick Heck, Christine Higley, Julie Hoisington, Michael Hughes, Gregory Key, Patricia Maguire, Bryan Marquardt, Barry Mehler, Julie Modene, John Monahan, Diane Nagelkirk, Vivian Nazar, Angela Page, Michael Ropele, Todd Rose, Sally Russell, Clayton Rye, Joseph Samson, Jeannette Seither, Mary Steeno, Kristine Szot-Green, Debra Vance, Thomas Weaver, Marshall Williams, Fred Wyman

25 Years

Mary Cline, Roxanne Cullen, Vicky Deur, Julie Doyle, Helen Gilders, Bruce Gregory, Paula Hagstrom, Sharon Hamel, Richard Hansen, Lori Henderson, Harold Palmer, Jeffrey Pierce, Murry Stocking, Vickie Streeter, Joan Totten, Richard Vendlinski, Mark Walton, Jackie Warner, Daniel Wrubel

30 Years

Peter Alley, Timothy Bowman, Carma Burcham, Douglas Chase, Charlyn Davis, Michael DePew, Frank Hartley, Robin Hoisington, Christine Kamen, Debbera Lunsted, Mary Main, Thomas Mehl, Jeff Nagelbush, Thomas Oldfield, Patti Olson, Dale Olson, Barbara Ross, Richard Spedowske, Virginia Spedowske, John Strohkirch, Paul Sullivan, Charles Wolgamott

35 Years

Rebecca Kowalkoski, Terry Nerbonne, Bruce Werner

40 Years

Mary Kilgallen

Please join me in thanking these faculty and staff members for their dedication to the University. I encourage you to mark your calendar for the 23rd and register at http://www.ferris.edu/president/forms/homepage.htm to join us for this desert reception and service awards event.

Good News

In my regular meetings with academic deans and University administrators, I have asked them to share news items about a wide range of positive developments at Ferris. I am continually impressed by the breadth and depth of accomplishments throughout our University. In my messages to the campus community, I sometimes make note of specific items, but thought that you might enjoy seeing more of the accomplishments from across our campus community. You can now access this information at www.ferris.edu/president by clicking on "Good News" in the left-hand column of the page. If you know of other items of interest, please share them with me.

Recent items include notice that -

- The first cohort for the new Nuclear Medicine bachelor's degree which begins this fall semester is full with 16 students admitted to the program
- The recent Kendall College Career Day for Industrial Design students included
 presentations by several alumni, including lain Thorp, Head of Design North America,
 Haworth; Kurt Martin, Principal Manager, Industrial Design, Turnstone-A Steelcase
 Company; Tim Murphy, Manager, Amana Brand, Whirlpool Corporation; Trevor Haney,
 Industrial Designer, Whirlpool; and Bruce Sienkowski, Owner/Designer, 28 Studio
- The Diversity Programming Committee within Housing/Residence Life provided a campus-wide program which simulated the experience of people who used the underground railroad to escape slavery; more than 100 students participated in the reenactment
- Cindi Todd, program chair of the Kendall Art Education programs, was recently selected to be president elect of the Michigan Art Education Association

Also in the category of good news, I want to note a faculty member whose name did not appear in my last University-wide message when I listed recent promotions – Dr. Jeff Bates has been promoted to the position of assistant professor in the College of Pharmacy.

Graduate Stories

Finally, do you know of someone with a compelling story who will be receiving a Ferris degree this spring? If so, please let me know. At each commencement ceremony I try to highlight the story of one or two graduates who have overcome adversity to receive his or her education or whose achievements are truly extraordinary. If you will e-mail me at eislerd@ferris.edu or call at ext. 2500, I then visit with each student selected to see if they are willing for me to share their story.

Each year I enjoy visiting with these students and find myself moved by the obstacles they have overcome, impressed by their achievement, and touched by the ways they have helped others. Thank you for helping identify these students.

Sincerely,

David L. Eisler President