

PRESS RELEASE: Nearly 40 Student Scholarships Awarded at COEHS Banquet

Sandy C Gholston to: Archive

06/18/2012 01:21 PM

Included below is a press release regarding the announcement of scholarships handed out by Ferris State University's College of Education and Human Services. The scholarship amounts range from \$500 to \$2,000 from funds comprised of financial endowments and external sources. Any questions about this release can be directed to Sandy Gholston, News Services and Social Media Manager.

To read the online version of the story, visit: http://www.ferris.edu/HTMLS/news/archive/2012/june/coehs.htm

For Immediate Release June 18, 2012

Sandy Gholston Ferris State University News Services and Social Media Manager sandygholston@ferris.edu, (231) 591-2021

Nearly 40 Student Scholarships Awarded at COEHS Banquet

BIG RAPIDS — Ferris State University's College of Education and Human Services Alumni Association has awarded scholarships to 38 students.

"We have a lot of students who need financial assistance and this helps to reduce their burden," said Michelle Johnston, dean of the College of Education and Human Services. One of the scholarships, the Dr. Thomas Johnston Memorial Scholarship, was established in memory of Johnston's husband.

The scholarships, which ranged from \$500 to \$2,000, were presented this spring during the 38th annual awards banquet. Funds were comprised of financial endowments and external funds deposited into student accounts.

Among the scholarships awarded were the James Ryan McCandless and Trevor Slot memorial scholarships, named for graduates of Ferris' Criminal Justice program who both died in 2011 in the line of duty.

Recipients were selected based on academic standing, major, academic year and financial need. Johnston said that the scholarships will motivate Ferris students to continue their academic success.

The COEHS banquet also acknowledged recipients of the Dean's Recognition Award, Distinguished Alumni Award, Mount Pleasant Area Technical Center Instructor of the Year Award and Dean's Student Advisory Committee.

"Every one of our students absolutely needed this money," Johnston said. "These scholarships mean that these students can stay at Ferris another year."

Scholarship award winners:

College of Education and Human Services Alumni Board Scholarship:

Michael King, TV and Digital Media Production, junior, Mount Pleasant Dana Pietrzyk, Elementary Education, senior, Clawson Chad Riffle, Elementary Education, senior, Grand Rapids Jamie Smigelski, Elementary Education, senior, Alpena

Elizabeth Claucherty Scholarship:

Dacory Cooper, Business, Management, Marketing and Technology Teaching, senior, Big Rapids

Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship:

Brooke Lynn, Elementary Education, senior, Mattawan Jamie Smigelski, Elementary Education, senior, Alpena

Robert W. Dougan Memorial Law Enforcement Scholarship:

Marissa Vegter, Criminal Justice Generalist, senior, Grandville

Susan Marie Edwards Memorial Scholarship:

Amy Burney, Elementary Education, senior, Sand Lake

Dr. Earl D. Gabriel Memorial Scholarship:

Courtney Hoyes, Elementary Education, sophomore, Swartz Creek

Dr. Edward M. Griffin Memorial Scholarship:

Cora Reese, Elementary Education, junior, Mason

Andrew V. Jeffrey Annual Criminal Justice Scholarship:

David Katje, Criminal Justice Law Enforcement, junior, Grand Haven

Dr. Thomas Johnston Memorial Scholarship:

Nathan Kidder, Elementary Education, sophomore, Pierson

Elizabeth E. Keeney Memorial Scholarship:

Jessica Brogan, Business, Management, Marketing Technology Teaching, senior, Brethren

Ferris and Jean Leach Scholarship:

Robert Young, Mathematics Education, senior, Casco

Lewis Barrister and Scholar Award:

Stephanie Saad, Criminal Justice Generalist, senior, Northville

Ryan McCandless Memorial Scholarship:

Jerrell Webb, Criminal Justice Law Enforcement, junior, Flint

Dr. Mary McCorriston Child Development Scholarship:

Olivia Bolthouse, Early Childhood Education, senior, Arcadia

Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation Scholarship:

Lauren Carnevale, TV and Digital Media Production, junior, Plymouth

Jessica Nagle-Wilson Memorial Scholarship:

Alexander Mckenzie, Criminal Justice Law Enforcement, junior, White Lake

Millard J. and IDA Quinlan Memorial Scholarship:

Kelsey Bunce, Social Studies Education, sophomore, Big Rapids Shannon Fournier, Elementary Education, junior, Fenton Kaysha Lieblang, Elementary Education, senior, Linden Matthew Reinbold, TV and Digital Media Production, senior, Saginaw Hannah Crouch, TV and Digital Media Production, junior, LeRoy Bethany Ginnever, Elementary Education, senior, Stanwood Jessica Modzelewski, TV and Digital Media Production, senior, White Cloud Courtney Schemming, Elementary Education, senior, Racine, Wisc.

RLM Development Scholarship:

Dawn Corwin, Recreation Leadership and Management, senior, Grand Rapids Phillip Higgins, Recreation Leadership and Management, senior, Newaygo Kevin Neff, Recreation Leadership and Management, senior, Gaylord

SOE Graduate Student Scholarship:

Lawrence Lynch, Curriculum and Instruction/Special Education Concentration, graduate, Kaleva

Trevor Slot Memorial Scholarship:

Megan Aikens, Criminal Justice Law Enforcement, sophomore, Battle Creek

Dr. George Storm Memorial Technical Education Scholarship:

Nathan Whitney, Technical Education, veteran senior, Fenton

Dean A. Whitehead Memorial Scholarship:

Tianna Chatman, Criminal Justice Generalist, senior, Auburn Hills

Dr. Scott D. Whitener Memorial Dean's Excellence in Education Scholarship:

Fuller Cowell, Criminal Justice Law Enforcement, senior, Mackinac Island Ashley Davis, History Education, senior, Grand Rapids

Martin J. Wozniak Scholarship:

Joshua Roelant, Criminal Justice Law Enforcement, Newport

Sandy Gholston News Services and Social Media Manager Ferris State University 420 Oak Street

Prakken Building 108 Phone: (231) 591-2021

News Services Web site: www.ferris.edu/news

Ferris State University News Blog: ferrisstatebulldogs.blogspot.com/

This message may contain confidential and/or proprietary information and is intended for the person/entity to which it was originally addressed. Any use by others is strictly prohibited.