1984

**Affiliated Groups** 

BYLAWS COMMITTEE -

ANNUAL REPORT

Flint Area Health Sciences Library Network

> Metropolitan Detroit Medical Library Group

> > Mid-Michigan Health Sciences Libraries

Northern Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Group

South Central Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Association

Thumb Area Medical Information Consortium

Upper Peninsula Health Science Libraries Consortium

Valley Regional Health Science Librarians

Western Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Association

Committee Members:

Hildegard Joseph, chairman

Doris Blauet
Barbara Kormelink
Diane Schwartz
Bonnie Swegles

Ruth Taylor

In January, the chairman met with Barbara Kormelink and Bonnie Swegles. At this meeting, bylaws were drafted that successfully merged all the aspects of the State Council Bylaws into the MHSIA Bylaws format.

This draft was reviewed by the representatives from the il Resources Libraries and the past and present State Council Representatives. After incorporating their suggestions in the

into the draft, it was distributed to all the members of the Bylaws Committee.

The Committee met in February and reviewed the proposed Bylaws. They reorganized the draft into a more logical and tighter format. The proposed Bylaws ammendment was presented to and accepted by the MHSLA Executive Board at their April meeting.

A copy of the proposed ammendment was sent to the GMRMLIN Regional Council by Barbara Kormelink. Barbara is the presiding State Council Chairman.

Michigan's membership on the GMRMIN Regional Council was accepted on May 15th. Clarification was requested and supplied on the issue of membership fees for State Council members. The Bylaws state that only the State Council Representative and their alternate must be both MHSIA members and basic unitalibrarians. Other State Council Members are not obligated to hold MHSIA Membership. This clarification was accepted by the Regional Council.

The acceptance of the proposed Bylaws at this Annual Conference will make the State Council an official Standing Committee of MHSLA.

Respectfully submitted,

Hildegard Joseph, chairman