## 4TH MICHIGAN HEALTH SCIENCE LIBRARIES EDUCATION CONFERENCE

General Session 10:00 a.m. September 24, 1977. Grand Hotel, Mackinac Island, Michigan.

The session was opened by Kay Kelly of Northern Michigan Health Science Libraries, Program Chairman for the conference.

The candidates for President, Secretary and Treasurer were introduced and the candidates for President each made a statement to the members. Anthos Hungerford of Hurley Hospital was nominated for President-Elect. There were no further nominations from the floor, and the ballots were distributed.

Jim Williams of Wayne State University was asked to chair the discussion of the proposed Constitution, and Dorothy Shaw of Midland Hospital was asked to take notes of this portion of the meeting. The three writers of the Constitution, Doris Asher of Lansing, Metta T. Lansdale of Ann Arbor and Faith VanToll of Detroit were introduced.

Jim Williams said the draft circulated to the members was a working document and he hoped we will have a Constitution. The Constitution Corrections which were distributed to the members were accepted, to substitute "Health Sciences" for "Health Science" throughout the document, add " a non-profit organization" to Article I, to add ARTICLE IX - DISSOLUTION, and renumber PARLIAMENTARY AUTHORITY as ARTICLE X.

It was explained that this document was written in very general terms and the new President will probably appoint a Bylaws Committee. The document was then considered section by section, with the panel answering questions.

ARTICLE II - "health sciences" to be substituted for "hospital" in the first clause, and "foster" substituted for "implement" in the last clause. These changes were accepted.

ARTICLE IV. EXECUTIVE BOARD. Section 3. Responsibility. "shall" was substituted for "will" in this section and also in all following sections of the Constitution.

After discussion of each succeeding article it was moved by Betty Rogers of Hackley Hospital School of Nursing, Muskegon, seconded by Marion Isaacson of Mercy School of Nursing, Pontiac, to accept the amended and corrected draft. Discussion was called for; none was offered. The motion was carried unanimously.

Barbara Kormelink of Bay Medical Center, Bay City, called for a round of applause for the Ad Hoc Committee. Addie Heilbronn of Saginaw thanked Kay Kelly for her services on the Ad Hoc Committee.

The results of the balloting were then announced as follows: President, Faith VanToll, President-Elect, Anthos Hungerford, Secretary, Doris Asher, Treasurer Andrea Sperlbaum.

The grand prize drawing was then held, the winner being Jim Crooks.

An invitation for the next conference was asked for and volunteered by Anny Hungerford for the Flint Area for the fall of 1978.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

Jim Williams asked that he be replaced as a representative to MICCLE (Michigan Interorganization Committee on Continuing Library Education), an organization seeking to facilitate a statewide development of a model recognition system of continuing education for librarians, an advisory committee to the State Library Committee. He asked for names of a designated member and alternate. Faith VanToll suggested the program chairman for the next conference would be most appropriate; Addie Heilbronn suggested a liaison person rather than the program chairman trying to do it all herself, and she be the alternate. It was decided that Anny Hungerford will select the person to do this.

Barbara Kormelink moved a vote of thanks to the Planning Committee for this conference. The meeting was then adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary pro tem.

Dorathy Shaw-