Ferris State University Academic Senate Meeting Tuesday, March 11, 1997 - 10:05 a.m.

I. Attendance

Senators Present: Abbasabadi, Conati, Etienne, Ferdowsi, Glynn, Green, Hanna, Hastings-Bishop, Heidemann, Holihan, Huey, Kane, Key, Klope, Konrad, Kowalkoski, Krumins, Maas, Moffett, Olsson, Rupe, Ryan, Saladin, Shepler, Smith, Stephen, Thapa, Travis, Valas. Senators Absent. Anderson (excused), Dakkuri(excused), Monson(excused), Nerbonne(excused), Pilgrim (excused), Papo, Stich, Wininger.

Guests. Teshome Abebe, William Sederburg, Tom Oldfield, Linda Travis, Douglas Haneline, Jerena Keys, Larry Schult, Karen Denyes, Matt Pinter, Julian Easter, Isabel Barnes, Gary Ovans, Geri Hurt, Mark Curtis, Pete Peterson.

II. Call to Order

President R. Moffett called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. in the Rankin Center President's Room.

III. Minutes

Minutes approved as written for the February 4, 1997, 10:00 a.m. session.

IV. Open Forum

No comments at this time.

V. Committee Reports

University Curriculum Committee

Senator Smith gave a brief report. See **Attachment 1** for complete listing of recently passed proposals and proposals being currently worked on by the UCC.

Academic Program Review

Douglas Haneline, Chair of the Academic Program Review Committee, extended thanks to committee members and reported the recommendations of the committee on programs reviewed in the 1996-97 cycle, as well as some general recommendations. A complete copy is on file in the Senate Office at Bishop Hall 415. The Senate Executive Committee will study the report and return a response to the Senate at the April 1, 1997, meeting.

Senate Governance Committee

Senator Key reported that an ad hoc committee has been formed, with John Landis as the Chair, studying the combining the Professional Development Committee, the Faculty Research Committee, and the Timme Grant Committee.

Senate Election Committee

Senator Ferdowsi reported that there are insufficient nominations for Senators in the Colleges of Pharmacy and Education. Please return your nomination forms to the Academic Senate Office by 4:30 today.

Senate Executive Committee

President Moffett informed the Senate that the Senate Executive Committee and the Board of Trustees Executive Committee met to discuss Senate Charter changes on February 21.

VI. New Business

University College

Interim Dean Travis gave a brief report to the Senate on the status of the University College and also the organizational structure. She reported that a \$150K State of Michigan grant has been applied for by the University College. She also reported that progress on Helen Ferris Hall (Honors Hall) is progressing.

Registration Process

Jerena Keys, Registration Process Committee Representative, reported on the mission statement, committee members, and sub-committees of the RPC. The Committee is seeking assistance with the distribution of surveys to students and input from faculty and staff on ways to make registration more friendly.

Professional Tennis Management Curriculum Clean-up Proposal

Motion by Senator Olsson, with support from Senator Kowalkoski, to accept the PTM Curriculum Clean-up Proposal. Senator Valas call to question. Motion passes unanimously.

Masters Programs Concept

This item will be added to the April 1 Senate agenda.

Proposed Copyright Statement

Draft statement can be downloaded from the net at http://consider.ferris.edu/copyright. This item will be added to the April 1 Senate agenda.

VII. Announcements

A. President Sederberg - provided the Senators with very brief updates on : FFA negotiations, update on the sale of bonds and financing the construction projects, State appropriations, the Library Program Statement, the Elastomer Center, the Honors Program, and Computer Support. He invited the Senators to attend the April 23 Legislative Reception in Lansing and reported that applications for admission are up.

B. Provost Abebe - Discussed briefly Cumulative Performance Review. This item will be an April agenda item.

VIII. Adjournment

President Moffett declared the meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

John A. Kane, Secretary

Approved,

Russell Moffett, President