Ferris State University Academic Senate Meeting Tuesday, April 28, 1998 - 11:00 a.m. session Mecosta Room, Rankin Center

I. Call to Order: President Key called the meeting to order at 11:25 a.m. in the Mecosta Room, Rankin Center.

II. Attendance

Senators Present: Abbasabadi, Anderson, Bonning, Conati, Dakkuri, Daugherty, Ferdowsi, Green, Haneline, Hanna, Hartman, Heidemann, Huey, Jackson, Kane, Key, Konrad, Kowalkoski, Krumins, Lindsey, Lovsted, Merwin, Nagel, Nikkari, Papo, Pilgrim, Ryan, Rye, Shepler, Squicciarini, Stephen, Stern, Thapa, Wininger.

Senators Absent. Hastings-Bishop (excused), Nista (excused), Speirs (excused)

Guests. Joe Chartkoff, Tom Oldfield, Isabel Barnes, Gary Horn

- **III. Open Forum -** No comments at this time.
- IV. New Business

Election of Officers for the 1998-99 Academic Senate -

Senator Abbasabadi, with support from Senator Stephen, nominates Senator Key for Senate President.

Senator Ryan, with support from **Senator Huey**, moves to close nominations. Motion passes. **Senator Dakkuri,** with support from **Senator Heidemann** moves to elect **Senator Key** unanimously. Motion passes.

Senator Konrad, with support from Senator Hanna, nominates Senator Heidemann as Academic Senate Vice President. Senator Ryan, with support from Senator Huey, moves to close nominations. Motion passes. Senator Dakkuri, with support from Senator Konrad, moves to elect Senator Heidemann unanimously. Motion passes.

Senator Huey, with support from Senator Abbasabadi, nominates Senator Kane as Secretary of the Senate. Senator Ryan, with support from Senator Huey, moves to close nominations. Motion passes. Senator Dakkuri, with support from Senator Thapa, moves to elect Senator Kane unanimously. Motion passes. Senator Huey, with support from Senator Stephen, nominates Senator Papo as Information Officer. Senator Stephen, with support from Senator Ryan, moves to close nominations. Motion passes. Senator Dakkuri, with support from Senator Ryan, moves to elect Senator Papo unanimously. Motion passes.

Senator Dakkuri, with support from Senator Pilgrim nominates Senator Ferdowsi as an At Large member of the Executive Committee. Senator Squicciarini, with support from Senator Haneline, nominates Senator Konrad as an At Large member of the Executive Committee. Senator Nagel, with support from Senator Conati, nominates Senator Huey as an At Large member of the Executive Committee. Senator Dakkuri, with support from Senator Ryan moves that nominations be closed. Motion passes.

President Key instructed the Senators to cast votes by ballot. Two Senators will be elected. Senators nominated made brief comments. **Senator Heidemann** comments that a broad representation is desirable on the Executive Board. **Senator's Konrad** and **Ferdowsi** are elected as At Large members.

V. Open Forum

Senator Shepler expressed her concern that again this year part-time faculty was not invited to "Strawberry Pie Day". It is her opinion that part-timers who have been here for many years should be included.

President Key had all of the Senators introduce themselves for new members.

VI. President Key adjourned the meeting at 11:55 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

John Kane, Secretary

Approved,

Greg Key, President