Ferris State University Academic Senate Regular Meeting February 1, 2005 – 10:00 a.m. West Campus Community Center

I. Call to Order: President Dakkuri called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

II. Attendance

Officers Present: President Adnan Dakkuri, Vice-President Robert Loesch, Secretary David Aiken Officers Absent: None

Senators Present: Abbasabadi, Bandstra, A., Bandstra, J., Cairy, Carter, Cline, Cron, Dickinson, Drake, Griffin, Heck, Jones, Key, Hanna, Hettiarachchy, Jewett, Johnson, Lewis, Liszewski, Lovsted, McLean, Miller, Morton, Nagel, Papo, Schmidt, Sun, Tymes, Vermeer

Senators Absent: Berghoef, Conati, Green, Martin, Potter, Watson

Ex-Officio Members Present: Vice President Academic Affairs Michael Harris, Student Government President Maria Knirk

Ex-Officio Members Absent: President David Eisler,

Guests: Jacqueline Hooper, Michele Johnston, Chuck Matrosic, David Nicol, Roberta Teahan, Susan Hastings-Bishop, Douglas Haneline, Mary Murnik, Don Flickinger, Doug Fonner, Roxanne Cullen

III. Approval of the Minutes

Motion by Miller, second from Aiken, to approve the January 11, 2005 minutes with the following corrections to Section 5: Reinhold Hill resigned from the Academic Senate rather than the University: the statement regarding Lon Green's appointment to the Senate should be stricken out. Motion carried.

IV. Open Forum

Dr. Mary Murnik, College of Arts and Sciences, expressed a concern regarding the restrictive hours for test scoring that have been imposed by the Institutional Research and Testing Office. The service they provide is an excellent assessment aid of student learning, but the hours are not compatible with afternoon classes, unless scantrons are used. Results are not available for the next course session, making it impossible to provide feedback to the students in a timely fashion. Facilitating student learning and instructional process should be a higher priority than it appears to be at this time.

Dr. Douglas Fonner, College of Arts and Sciences, supported Dr. Murnik's statement, adding that the analysis is great, and that some flexibility needs to be offered.

Senator Nagel added that this information is disturbing and unacceptable. **Senators Heck and Tymes** stated that they found the hours inconvenient. Tymes has stopped using the service provided.

President Dakkuri stated the concerns would be forwarded to the Vice President for Academic Affairs, with copies to the Vice President for Student Affairs and the Testing Office.

President Dakkuri was granted consent to change the agenda to accommodate VPAA Harris' schedule.

V. Announcements

VPAA Harris reported that Reinhold Hill has been appointed Head of the Department of Languages and Literature. Kevin Miller has been appointed as Administrative Intern in the Dean of Arts and Sciences Office. Sharon Hamel will be the new director of Media Production. Six sabbatical leave requests will be forwarded to the Board of Trustees; seven were received. Dr. Harris thanked the Senators for the lively debate and the emails following the Open Forum on General Education held January 20, 2005, and stated that he will report to the Senate in 6 weeks some marginal steps for the revision of the General Education requirements. He also advised Senators that Susan Morris will step down as GE Coordinator and thanked her for her

Academic Senate Meeting

February 1, 2005

dedication and hard work. He stated that 42 faculty positions will be filled, and that the Planning Process will be finished by the end of March. Reorganization in the College of Allied Health Sciences has been completed and he expressed thanks to faculty members of the college for their assistance. He also stated that a reorganization of the College of Technology will begin in the near future. Dr. Roxanne Cullen will act as GE Coordinator; funds originally designated for release time for the GE Coordinator will be used to enhance assessment.

Senator Griffin inquired about a change in the structure of the College of Technology prior to the hiring of a dean. Dr. Harris responded that he would like to bring in 1-3 consultants to review a proposal written by Technology department heads prior to the hiring of a new dean for that college.

VI. Senate Officer Reports

President Dakkuri had no report. Vice President Loesch had no report. Secretary Aiken had no report.

VII. Committee Reports

A. University Curriculum Committee – Chair Drake reviewed the proposals presented to the UCC since the February Senate meeting. That document is Attachment A of these minutes.

Drake distributed the Table of Contents (Attachment B) for the University Curriculum Manual. The manual has been divided into sections for easy use.

B. Senate Elections Committee – Senator Key, Chair of the Elections Committee reviewed apportionment and expiring term documents (Attachment C). Senate elections will be held electronically on March 23 and 24, 2005. The 2005-06 Senate will have 38 members, one more than the current Senate.

VIII. New Business

- **A. President Dakkuri** announced that the Executive Committee has appointed Kent Sun to replace Reinhold Hill and Alice Bandstra to replace Brad Marine.
- **B. RMLS Curriculum Restructuring and Cleanup Motion by Johnson, second from Drake,** to accept the proposal. Dr. Hastings-Bishop responded to questions. Motion carried.
- C. Student Advising Dr. Douglas Haneline, Chair, Student Life Committee, provided Senators with a resolution written by the Student Life Committee (Attachment D).
 Motion by Miller, second from Aiken, to adopt the resolution as presented. Following discussion, Senator Abbasabadi called the question, question carried, motion carried.

IX. Announcements

President Dakkuri reminded Senators that in the future timelines should be included in all proposals submitted to the Academic Senate for approval.

X. Adjournment – 11:20 a.m.

David Aiken, Secretary

Adnan Dakkuri, President