Ferris State University Academic Senate Regular Meeting April 26, 2005 – 11:00 a.m. Session West Campus Community Center

I. Call to Order: President Dakkuri called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

II. Attendance

Officers Present: President Adnan Dakkuri, Vice-President Robert Loesch

Officers Absent: Secretary David Aiken

Senators Present: Abbasabadi, Bandstra, A., Bandstra, J., Berghoef, Borst, Heck, Hettiarachchy, Cairy, Carter, Cline, Conati, Cron, Griffin, Haneline, Jewett, Key, Klope, Kouider, Liszewski, Lewis, McLean,

McMartin, Miller, Morton, Nagel, Potter, Papo, Schmidt, Tymes, Weemaes, Wheeler

Senators Absent: Hanna (excused), Lovsted (excused), Watson

Ex-Officio Members Present: None Ex-Officio Members Absent: None

Guests: Kent Sun

III. Open Forum

Senator Schmidt requested a "State of the Senate Address" from current Senate Executive committee members, what the function is, what the executive committee is all about, and the pros and cons of being an executive board member.

Senator Aiken reported that President Dakkuri has an excellent vision for the Academic Senate and is very aggressive with presenting issues to the administration of the University.

IV. New Business

A. Election of Officers for the 2005-2006 Academic Year – President Dakkuri turned the meeting over to Senate Elections Committee Chair Key.

Senator Potter nominated Senator Dakkuri for the position of President. Nominations were closed. Senator Dakkuri was elected by acclamation.

Senator Bandstra nominated Senator Loesch for the position of Vice President. Nominations were closed. Senator Loesch was elected by acclamation.

Senator Miller nominated Senator Haneline for the position of Secretary. Nominations were closed. **Senator Haneline was elected by acclamation.**

Nominations for At-Large Committee members (3 vacancies) were:

Senator Griffin

Senator Bandstra

Senator Jewett

Senator Schmidt

Senator Thapa

Senator Liszewski

Senator Wheeler

Nominations were closed. Following a lengthy discussion, **Senators Wheeler**, **Griffin and Bandstra** were elected as **At-Large Committee members**.

- V. Open Forum No comments at this time.
- VI. Adjournment 11:55 a.m.

Academic Senate Meeting	April 26, 2005
Douglas Haneline, Secretary	Adnan Dakkuri, President