Ferris State University Academic Senate Meeting Tuesday, December 3, 1996 - 10:05 a.m.

I. Attendance

Senators Present: Abbasabadi, Anderson, Conati, Dakkuri, Etienne. Ferdowsi, Green, Hanna, Hastings-Bishop, Heidemann, Holihan, Huey, Kane, Key, Klope, Kowalkoski, Maas, Moffett, Monson, Nerbonne, Olsson, Papo, Pilgrim, Rupe, Ryan, Saladin, Shepler, Smith, Stephen, Stich, Thapa, Travis, Valas, Wininger Senators Absent. Glynn, Konrad (excused), Krumins Guests. Teshome Abebe, William Sederburg, Jeff Cross, Sue Hammersmith, George Nagel, Chryl Irvine, Jesse Huff, Gary Horn, Sandy Alspaugh, Christine Duckett, Kaaren Hildebrant, KellyCurrie, Heather DeLiberto

II. Call to Order

President R. Moffett called to meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. in the Rankin Center President's Room.

III. Minutes

Minutes approved as submitted for the November 5, 1996, 10:00 a.m. session.

IV. Open Forum

President Moffett informed the Senate that the General Education Transfer Guidelines will not be an agenda item today.

Student Christine Duckett, Social Work Program, expressed her views on the importance of the proposed Applied Communication Major.

V. Committee Reports

University Curriculum Committee

Donna Smith provided the Senators with a list of proposals that the UCC has been reviewing. *See Attachment A*

Senate Governance Committee

Senator Key had nothing to report at this time.

VI. Old Business

Spring Break - Dr. Moffett asked several Senators to report the results of informal surveys of students regarding the timing of Spring Break. The majority of those students surveyed preferred Spring Break be returned to March.

Moved by Valas, seconded by Stephen, that the Academic Senate recommend to the Board of Trustees that Spring Break be returned to the first week of March. Motion passes unanimously.

VII. New Business

Applied Communication Major

President Moffett informed the Senate that he had been asked to conduct a roll call vote and a secret ballot. Discussion on proper procedure.

Moved by Stephen, seconded by Huey that a voice vote be held on the Applied Communication Major. Motion passes unanimously.

Moved by Hastings-Bishop, seconded by Pilgrim to approve the Applied Communication Major.

A question concerning two (2) degrees on one proposal was brought to the floor.

Motion by Valas, seconded by Stephen, to split the proposal into two (2) parts, Associates and Bachelors. Motion defeated by a show of hands (13 for, 15 against).

Discussion regarding this proposal was lengthy.

Motion by Green, seconded by Pilgrim to close debate on issue. Motion defeated by show of hands (13 in favor, 19 opposed). Motion by Valas, seconded by Stephen to table the proposal until the next Senate meeting. Motion passes.

VIII. Announcements

A. President Sederberg - informed the Senate of the goals and work plan for 1996-97. *See Attachment B*

B. Provost Abebe

- 1. Complimented the UCC on the excellent job done this past year.
- 2. Informed the Senate that the University College is progressing ahead of schedule.
- 3. Advised the Senate that at the November Board of Trustees meeting the Board approved some of the amendments to the Senate Charter.
- 4. Informed the Senate that a plan regarding grant proposals can be expected from the Provost's Office in 2-3 weeks.

- 5. Assured the Senate that responses received regarding Post Tenure Review were forwarded to the Board. The Senate will be involved in the development of standards (Spring, 1997), with implementation to take place in Fall 97.
- C. President Moffett The Board of Trustees have accepted three parts of the revised Senate Charter. Technical changes, election process, and part-time faculty to vote on Charter Amendments were approved by the Board. The Executive Committee will meet on December 9 to discuss the release time sections of the Charter that were not accepted by the Board.

IX. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Senate will be January 14, 1997, 10:05 a.m., in the President's Room of Rankin Center.

X. Adjournment

President Moffett declared the meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,
John A. Kane, Secretary
Approved,
Russell Moffett President