NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT May 10, 2011

The Nominating Committee sent out two calls for nominations and selfnominations to the MHSLA listserv in March and April. Four people were nominated for President-Elect, one accepted. Two people were nominated for Secretary, one accepted. Four people were nominated for the Nominating Committee, all accepted. 5/12/2011 is the deadline for nominations.

The preliminary slate (as of 5/9/11) for the 2011 MHSLA Election is as follows:

President-Elect:

Diane Gardner - McLaren

Secretary:

Mark MacEachern - University of Michigan

Nominating Committee:

Jennifer Barlow - Borgess (WMHSLA) Karen Dorsch - Bay Regional (ERHSLA) Diane Piskorowski - Botsford (MDMLG)

Robin Sabo - Central Michigan University (MMHSL)

Bios for Diane Gardner and Mark MacEachern were also collected and are included at the end of this report. Jennifer Barlow, the current MHSLA Secretary, will send the slate and bios to MHSLA and will inform members that nominations by petition are due to the Nominating Chair by June 20. The timeline for the committee is listed below.

MHSLA Nominating Committee Timeline - 2011

March 23	Send 1 st Call for Nominations to MHSLA Listserv
April 18	Send 2 nd Call for Nominations to MHSLA Listserv
May 12	Nomination Deadline: Confirm Nominations;
	President Elect and Secretary Bios Due
May 17	Preliminary Report and Slate due to MHSLA Board;
	MHSLA Secretary distributes slate to MHSLA Membership (if
	approved)
June 20	Nominations by Petition due to Nominations Chair
July 1	Final Report and Ballot due to MHSLA Board
August 1	MHSLA Secretary distributes Ballot to MMHSLA Members
September 12	Tally Election Results
September 16	MHSLA President Reports Results to Candidates
September 22	Results Reported to MHSLA Membership (General Business
	Meeting)

Bios

President-Elect: Diane Gardner – McLaren

Diane Gardner lives in Mount Morris, Michigan and is currently the manager of the medical library at McLaren Regional Medical Center. She was a member of the last graduating class of Baker Junior College receiving her associate's degree with a concentration in medical secretarial in 1986. After graduation she worked for a group of orthopedic surgeons for 7 ½ years and during this time attended evening classes at the University of Michigan – Flint. She graduated from UM-Flint in 1990 with a BA in communications. In 1994, Diane went to work for a solo internal medicine physician and worked for him until 1997 when she was hired in to McLaren Regional Medical Center as a surgical scheduling clerk. In March 1999 Diane began her new job as library technician in the medical library. After getting to know other people in the library field she decided to return to school for a Masters degree. In May 2007 Diane graduated from Wayne State University with a Masters in Library and Information Science. In October 2008, she became the manager of the medical library at McLaren.

Diane has held numerous positions in the Companion Dog Training Club of Flint, has participated as a group leader in the Cim 10 mile road race training program, and is currently president of the Beecher Water Board.

Diane believes her strengths are organization, encouragement and perseverance - all of which she will continue to use to benefit those around her.

Secretary: Mark MacEachern - University of Michigan

Upon receiving his Master of Library and Information Science degree from the University of Western Ontario in 2007, Mark MacEachern began working - and continues to work - as a liaison librarian in the University of Michigan's Taubman Health Sciences Library. As a liaison, Mark works closely with faculty, staff, and students in a number of academic and clinical units throughout the health system, including the College of Pharmacy, School of Dentistry, and the Departments of Anesthesiology, Medical Education, Radiology, and Surgery. In terms of community service, Mark has served on the MHSLA Education Committee in both 2010 and 2011. Prior to his current role, Mark worked as a co-op student in the University Library system at McMaster University.

Respectfully Submitted, Heidi Schroeder Chair, Nominating Committee