Minutes Ferris State University Academic Senate Meeting 11:00 a.m.

April 23, 2013-B

Members in Attendance: Alspach, Amey, Bacon, Baker, Barnes, Berghoef, Boncher, Brandly, Ciaramitaro, Cook, Dakkuri, Daubert, Dinardo, Drake, Fox, Griffin, Groves, Hanna, Harlan, Ing, Isler, Jenerou, Jiao, Joyce, Kaltt, Marion, Nagel, Nazar, Piercey, Potter, Richmond, Rumpf, Schmidt, Thapa, Todd, Wancour, yowtz

Members absent with cause: Members absent: Tower

Ex Officio and Guests: Blake, Erickson, Garrison, Green, Johnston, Potter, Yates

1. Senate Elections Committee Chair Chuck Drake called the meeting to order at 11:02 am.

2. Open Forum

Senator Alspach notified Senators about the celebration of Title IX at an upcoming softball game. Senator Cook noted the upcoming Vagina Monologues. Senator Drake noted the participation of students in the Human Powered Vehicle challenge. Senator Nagel asked for the date of the Senate retreat – it is August 20, 2013.

3. Election of President.

Senator Griffin moved to nominate Senator Berghoef as President. Senator Ciamataro seconded. Senator Wancour moved to nominate Senator Thapa as president. Senator Hanna seconded. Both candidates accepted their nomination. Senator Alspach moved to close nominations. Senator Thapa was elected. Vote totals listed below.

- 18 Mike Berghoef
- 19 Khagendra Thapa
- 1 spoiled ballot

4. Election of Vice President

Senator Thapa moved to nominate David Marion. Senator Cook seconded. Senator Berghoef declined a nomination. Senator Rumpf moved to close nominations. Senator Marion was elected. Vote totals listed below.

- 34 David Marion
- 1 John Schmidt
- 1 David Hanna

5. Election of Secretary

Senator Klatt moved to nominate Senator Melinda Isler as secretary. Secretary Thapa seconded. Senator Isler accepted the nomination and spoke to the senate. A ballot was passed out. Motion carried 36-0.

6. Election of 3 At-Large members

Senator Dakkuri was nominated by Senator Wancour. Senator Isler seconded. Senator Bacon was nominated by Senator Thapa. Senator Wancour seconded. Senator Todd was nominated by Senator Griffin. Senator Berghoef seconded. Senator Dinardo was nominated by Senator Berghoef. Senator Klatt seconded. Senator Wancour was nominated by Senator Berghoef. Senator Griffin seconded. Senator Brandly was nominated by Senator Griffin. Senator Berghoef seconded. All candidates accepted their nominations and spoke briefly. A ballot was passed out. It was clarified that there would be only one ballot and senators can vote for up to 3 candidates (but did not have to vote for three) A ballot was passed out. Vote totals listed below. * indicates those selected

- 25 Adnan Dakkuri*
- 23 Susan Wancour*
- 20 Amy Dinardo*
- 17 Charles Bacon
- 13 Gary Todd
- 7 Mark Brandly

7.	Senator Piercey moved for adjournment at 11:57. Joyce seconded. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted, Melinda Isler Secretary